AgriLife Information Technology

Un-Map Teams Channel Folders

If you no longer need a drive saved locally on your computer (shows under Texas A&M AgriLife in Windows Explorer) and would like to disconnect it, then follow the steps below

Note: The cloud icon in the Status column means your folder is synced to the Microsoft cloud

Stop Syncing

Right Click on the OneDrive icon in the taskbar at the bottom right of your screen

It looks like this cloud icon:

A menu will appear that will look like the one to the right.

Ensure your OneDrive says it is up to date at the top

Click Settings

Under the Account Tab you will see a list of the Teams folders you are syncing (and have “mapped” in File Explorer)

The first one listed is your personal AgriLife OneDrive

Do NOT select stop sync on your personal OneDrive

You can click Stop Sync on the one(s) you do want to remove

You will then receive this warning:

When you click Stop Sync on this window, OneDrive will be gin removing the local links to the cloud-based Teams Folder/Files

Right Click on the OneDrive icon again

It should say OneDrive is updating files

Any files that have a green check in the status icon or that you have marked as “Always keep on this device” will leave a copy behind on your computer

All of the other content will be removed from your machine, and remain only in the cloud

You will be able to access this content through the Teams app on your computer or in your browser

This process may take several minutes, depending on how large the folders/files are.

Wait for OneDrive to show that all files are up to date

Once the removal has completed, you will see that the folders no longer have a cloud icon in the status column

You can then remove any remaining files/folders that were left behind, since they are empty folders or local-only copies of files

Test Before Deleting

Before deleting the folder, verify that you can rename the Team-Teamname folder you intend to remove.

If you can rename it without an error message, then it is a local-only copy, and you can safely delete it.

Deleting a local-only copy on your computer will not affect the cloud-based Teams version of the folder

If you receive the error message to the right, then the folder is still synced.

Go back to the Accounts tab and click Stop Syncing to the right of the folder

Updated on October 22, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles